See it again...or for the very first time!  
Home »

MY WORLD...AND WELCOME TO IT - THE COMPLETE SERIES (NBC 1969-70) William Windom, Joan Hotchkis, Lisa Gerritsen, Henry Morgan, Harold J. Stone

$ 19.95
- +

My World...and Welcome to It is an American half-hour television sitcom based on the humor and cartoons of James Thurber. It starred William Windom as John Monroe, a Thurber-like writer and cartoonist who works for a magazine closely resembling The New Yorker called The Manhattanite. Wry, fanciful and curmudgeonly, Monroe observes and comments on life, to the bemusement of his rather sensible wife Ellen (Joan Hotchkis) and intelligent, questioning daughter Lydia (Lisa Gerritsen - best known for playing Bess Lindstrom on The Mary Tyler Moore Show and Phyllis). The series also featured Henry Morgan as Philip Jensen and Harold J. Stone as Hamilton Greeley.

Monroe’s frequent daydreams and fantasies are usually based on Thurber material. My World — And Welcome To It is the name of a book of illustrated stories and essays, also by James Thurber. During his daydreams, his cartoons would come to life often combining real-life film and animation.

The series ran one season on NBC 1969-1970. It was created by Mel Shavelson, who wrote and directed the pilot episode and was one of the show’s principal writers. Sheldon Leonard was executive producer. The show’s producer, Danny Arnold, co-wrote or directed numerous episodes, and even appeared as Santa Claus in “Rally Round the Flag.”

My World and Welcome to It won two Emmy Awards in 1970  Outstanding Continued Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Comedy Series (William Windom) Outstanding Comedy Series. The show was cancelled, however, in part due to the high cost of the animated segments.

This 2 DVD set features all 26 episodes produced. Picture and sound quality: 8.5

(DISC 1)
Man Against The World (9/15/1969); The Disenchanted (9/22/1969); Little Girls Are Sugar & Spice - And Not Always Nice! (9/29/1969); Christabel (10/6/1969); The Night The House Caught Fire (10/13/1969); The Ghost And Mr. Monroe (10/20/1969); Nobody Ever Kills Dragons Anymore (10/27/1969); Seal In The Bedroom (11/3/1969); The Saga Of Dimity Ann (11/10/1969); Friend Of The Earth (11/17/1969); Maid In Connecticut (11/24/1969); Native Wit (12/1/1969); The Shrike And The Chipmunks (12/8/1969)

(DISC 2)
Rally Round The Flag (12/15/1969); The War Between Men And Women (12/22/1969); The Mating Dance (12/29/1970); Darn That Dream (1/5/1970); The Human Being and the Dinosaur (1/12/1970); "Dear" Is A Four-Letter Word (1/19/1970); The Middle Years (1/26/1970); Rules For A Happy Marriage (2/2/1970); The Wooing Mr. Monroe (2/9/1970); The Mea Culpa Bit (2/16/1970); The Fourth Estate (2/23/1970) Monroe The Misogynist (3/2/1970); Child's Play (3/9/1970)

Number of DVDs: 2
Number of DVDs: 24
Quality: 8.5/10
Running Time: 9 hrs 36 min (approx)
Aspect Ratio: Full Screen 1.33:1
NOTES: This is a fan-made DVD set. Not    a studio release
See more: DVD-R
Scroll to top