See it again...or for the very first time!  
Home »


$ 24.95
- +
Between the years of 1966-1976, audiences around the world regularly tuned in to see what new aquatic wonders has been captured on film by Jacque Cousteau and the crew of his ship, Calyso, on their decade-long adventure around the world.
A pioneer of marine biology as well as the technology involved in underwater exploration, Jacque Cousteau’s work is a colorful, revealing window onto a world that few of us will ever see first-hand. This comprehensive 36-episode series follows the crew as they study life in every corner of the globe: from sharks in the Red Sea to penguins in Antarctica, from coral reefs to hippos, the octopus to the sea otter. Taking time to study the intimate behavior of a wide spectrum of animals in their natural environment, each new variety of marine life they encounter is approached with the same passion, deep interest and respect. A tough mission it may be, but whether they are swimming with whales or diving for sunken treasure, life on board Calypso is never dull.
The creators of the first underwater nature documentaries ever filmed, Cousteau and his crew wrote the rules as they went along. If they saw a creature struggling or suffering in the wild, they would just as likely to intervene and lend a hand as to document the harsh realities of the natural world. Profoundly respectful of nature but never sentimental, the crew of the Calypso and their amazing adventures reveal almost as much about the depths of human compassion as they do the depths of our verdant oceans.
This collection of 6 DVDs contains all 36 episodes, plus the original special “Conshelf Adventure” that was the pilot for the series. The bulk of this series was narrated by Rod Serling (Twilight Zone, Night Gallery), with the exception of the Sharks episode and the last 8 episodes.
Disc 1
01 - Sharks (1/8/68)
02 - Savage World of the Coral Jungle (3/6/68)
03 - Search in the Deep (4/15/68)
04 - Whales (11/15/68)
05 - The Unexpected Voyage of Pepito and Cristobal (1/13/69)
06 - Sunken Treasure (3/3/69)
Disc 2
07 - The Legend of Lake Titicaca (4/24/69)
08 - The Desert Whales (10/28/69)
09 - The Night of the Squid (1/16/70)
10 - The Return of the Sea Elephants (2/8/70)
11 - Those Incredible Diving Machines (3/10/70)
12 - The Water Planet (10/28/70)
Disc 3
13 -Tragedy of the Red Salmon (11/24/70)
14 - Lagoon of Lost Ships (5/14/71)
15 - The Dragons of Galapagos (2/24/71)
16 - Secrets of the Sunken Caves (3/19/71)
17 - The Unsinkable Sea Otter (9/26/71)
18 - The Forgotten Mermaids (12/21/71)
Disc 4
19 - Octopus, Octopus 12/21/71
20 - A Sound of Dolphins 2/25/72
21 - 500 Million Years Beneath the Sea 1/11/73
22 - The Smile of the Walrus 11/5/72
23 – Hippo! 2/16/73
24 - The Singing Whale 3/12/73
Disc 5
25 - South to Fire and Ice 11/29/73
26 - The Flight of the Penguins 1/21/74
27 - Beneath the Frozen World 3/3/74
28 - Blizzard at Hope Bay 3/22/74
29 - Life at the End of the World 11/14/74
30 - Beavers of the North Country 1/6/75
Disc 6
31 - The Coral Divers of Corsica 2/25/75
32 - The Sleeping Sharks of the Yucatan 4/6/75
33 - The Sea Birds of Isabela 12/8/75
34 - Mysteries of the Hidden Reefs 4/5/76
35 - The Fish that Swallowed Jonas 5/23/76
36 - The Incredible March of the Spiny Lobsters 5/30/76
Bonus Pilot Special - Conshelf Adventure 9/15/66
Number of DVDs: 6
Quality: 10/10
Running Time: 1850 min approx
Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
NOTES: This is a fan-made DVD set. Not    a studio release. DVD come in white sleeves with no art work. Screenshots to be added soon.
See more: DVD-R
Scroll to top